So I’ve decided to start also blogging about the new things Brandon and I decide to try and cook. I’ll put pictures of what we’re making as we make it, pictures of the finished projects and then the recipe in case any of you care to try it too. This weekend I made 2 new things! I found the recipes on the blog of one of the girls I graduated HS with. She just recently got married and has a list of things she’d like to make for her new husband and is sharing the process and recipes with everyone. I went through the whole thing one day and saved recipes I’d like to try 🙂 So here is my first entry dealing with food 🙂

Friday night, I decided would be night one of the new recipes. I chose the recipe for Taco Enchilada Bake. I love Tacos, and I love Enchiladas. So I figured this was the perfect choice. You can do it with either chicken or beef, we chose chicken. So first you cook the chicken breasts with diced onions

After the chicken breasts are cooked all the way through, you need to shred the chicken. You can use forks or we used our fingers because it’s a little easier.

Then you throw that back in the pan, or in my case electric frying pan, and add the taco seasoning, water, and taco sauce Then heat it up.

After you get that heated up, you put a layer or tortilla’s in a 9×13 pan. Then add some meat. Then you add another layer of tortilla’s and then a layer of sour cream, cheese, and green chili’s mixture.

After you’re done layering, throw it in the oven, enjoy the aroma, and then pull it out and enjoy the taste!!!

You can see the layers and the gooeyness. It was SO! Good!!! Definitely making it again!

Saturday morning I decided to make some breakfast for Brandon and I, again from my friends blog. She talked about Cinnamon Roll French Toast and I fell in love!!! I love Cinnamon Rolls, and I love French Toast. Why didn’t I think to combine them?!

First you make the cinnmon rolls as instructed on the package. (No I didn’t make homemade ones). As they are cooling, you can mix together the french toast batter. Then Dip the cinnamon rolls into the batter and put on a griddle (Or again in my place, on the electric frying pan)

When they are done, put on a plate and cover with whatever you’d like. Extra icing, maple syrup, powdered sugar, or just eat plane! Either way you choose, they are Delicious!!! Not something I’d make all the time, due to being unhealthy, but for a special occassion, no doubt about it!!!

If you guys try any of these and you have suggestions or changed anything, please share with me!!! Brandon and I have a few ideas on what we want to change with these recipes for next time, but I don’t want to  change the recipes for you so you can try on your own also and come up with your own changes! Hope you all enjoy!!!

Taco Enchilada Bake

Ingredients

1 Lb ground beef or two/three boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 medium onion, chopped
Taco Seasoning–1 packet
2/3 C water
2 C cheese of your choice (cheddar, monterey jack, pepper jack)
1/2 C sour cream
1/2 C taco sauce
1 Can diced green chilis
1 Can enchilada sauce
Tortillas

Directions
Preheat oven to 350
Cook meat with diced onion. Add taco seasoning, 2/3 cup of water and taco sauce. Set aside.
Mix cheese and sour cream. Add green chilis.
Grease baking pan. Add a small amount of enchilada sauce.

Put a layer of the tortillas down in the pan. Add 1/3 of the meat mixture and some of the enchilada sauce.

Top with another layer of tortillas.

Add the cheese mixture to the top of the tortillas.

Add another tortilla and repeat with meat with enchilada sauce, tortilla, cheese mixture. The top layer should be just enchilada sauce and cheese.

Bake for about 30 minutes until golden brown and bubbly.

Cinnamon Roll French Toast

1 pkg of Cinnamon rolls

1 cup milk
1 Egg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 tablespoon white sugar
1/2 of the icing packet

Start off by making cinnamon rolls according to package. While they are cooling mix together the egg, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, white sugar, and the icing for the french toast batter. After they have cooled. Dip them in the batter and fry them up on a griddle until they are golden brown on both sides. Then enjoy!

