For those of you who don’t know, I am a girl scout leader, well just the assistant, but still a leader. This last weekend we took our troop, only 4 girls, to William O’Brien state park to go camping for the weekend. We left Friday around 1 and got back about 2:30 on Sunday afternoon. It turned out to be a great weekend! We got a lot of rain on Friday night, with a few leaks in the tent, but otherwise the weather was beautiful!

Friday we set up camp and got all of our tents put up.

Julia and Lauren with their completed tent

Julia and Lauren with their completed tent

                                                                   

Kayla and Sam with their complete tent

Kayla and Sam with their complete tent

After the tents were set up we ran into town to pick up a few more things that we had forgotten, where I found packs of candy cigarettes for a quarter! I’m not sure why I love this candy so much, but I’m kind of a sucker for them….so I bought 4 packs of them. You can’t find them anywhere anymore, so when I find them, I tend to buy multiples.

Lauren and I with our candy cigarettes

Lauren and I with our candy cigarettes

That night the girls decided we were making hobo dinners. It’s where you put hamburger, veggies, and some cream of mushroom soup in tinfoil, put it in the fire to cook, and then take it out and eat it straight from the tin foil. They were AMAZING! So simple, and so good, love it!

Chef Julia making our Hobo Dinners for us

Chef Julia making our Hobo Dinners for us

And of course, whats camping without some s’mores?! But we quickly realized that we didn’t have any marshmellow roasters, and we couldn’t find any decent green sticks so we had to jimmy rig something together using some duct tape, a fork, and a few medium sticks we found.

IMG_1812

Slight fail...

Slight fail...

Saturday was a packed day. We made bacon, sausage, and french toast over the fire for breakfast. We then had a tree identification thing at noon. That was a lot of fun and taught us how to use a key to figure out how to tell what kind of tree you’re dealing with. We split up into 3 teams, Lauren and I were on a team. We took 2nd, which wasn’t bad. After the Tree ID we came back to our site for a little R and R before some of us walked back up to the visitor center to go to a thing about snakes. The ranger had a Fox snake she brought out, his name was Foxy Scales. Some of us even got to hold him!

This was one of the coolest things I've ever done!

This was one of the coolest things I've ever done!

After the snake thing we packed up a lunch and headed to the beach to just sit by the lake for awhile. It was a little windy down there so only two of the girls swam. So we decided to teach the girls how to play Texas Hold ‘Em….It’s completely alright to teach your girl scout troop how to gamble right?

IMG_1868

That night we ate some pizza pocket dealies. They were also AMAZING! There are special toaster things, you place bread in them, pizza sauce, cheese, hamburger, peporoni, mushrooms…really anything you’d like to and then toast them in the fire. My first one came out perfect…the second one came out a little burnt. For a snack that night we decided to bring some Jiffy Pop. I have a hard enough time making this stuff at home on the stove, so I had no idea how this was going to work on an open camp fire. It actually worked really well! But after we made it all, Lauren and I were reading the directions on the back of the package and this is what it says (if you look closely…it clearly says not to make it over an open campfire…oops!):

IMG_1925

 

Sunday we packed up and headed into Taylors Falls where we climbed around on the rocks over the St. Croix River. Coincidentally someone recently had fallen off the rocks into the water and died…so that was a little scarey. One of the girls dropped her camera down some rocks but we managed to retrieve it and it still worked! Here are a few pictures from Taylors Falls and also some other random ones from the camping trip of just some flowers and other things I took pictures of.

IMG_1946

IMG_1864

sorry this one is sideways...

IMG_1951

IMG_1889

 

you can always look at the rest of my pictures on facebook, they’re all on there, all 170 some of them lol. On a side note: I had weigh in today and I lost another 1.6 pounds which put me over the 50lb mark! I’m at 51.2 lbs total lost!!! I was super excited! But a friend of mine who joined a few months before me is making me feel a little guilty. I was really worried going into weigh in today because of camping and how I was eating (s’mores are just too good to only have one lol) and I voiced my worry. Well I ended up losing and I’ve now passed her with how much I’ve lost. We started out at the same weight. She got down on me a bit about how she’s really frustrated and how I have no reason to worry so much because it doesn’t matter what I do it seems I lose. I feel bad, but it’s nothing I can really control. When I know I did bad over a weekend, I work really hard to make it better. And she’s the one that asked me how I did today with weigh in and she asks me if I’m worried every week. I don’t know what to do with that, but I do feel bad….but also feel great for hitting this mile stone. Hopefully everything else works out alright now!

